3:06. He will rant and rage and call people "idiot." Let it grow! If to Freud all defense mechanisms exist to protect the personality from an intolerable attack of anxiety when the ego is under siege, it's strange that he never considered anger as serving this pivotal psychological function. Although almost nobody appreciates their proclivities toward anger as coping strategies calculated to disarm, denigrate, or intimidate "the enemy," I'm convinced that anger is employed universally to bolster a diminished sense of personal power. Stubborn and demanding, you are a bit of a selfish princess. Im a student at tracy high and i found this article extraordinary i've never felt so compelled to read. This article hit home. I believe he has NPD full-blown. No, I am not in counselling but what you say sounds sensible and actually quite obvious in the way you put it. My initial negative reaction does not help since I feel like I have to literally be on guard most of the time. People are … Thank you for your very insightful article. I know we love each other and want to stay together. The internal dynamic depicted in this illustration is the same with a whole host of emotions that, as soon as they begin to surface, can be effectively masked, squelched, or preempted through the emergence of secondary anger. I think that I've collectively counted to a billion and back. This is why I've long viewed anger as a double-edged sword: terribly detrimental to relationships but nonetheless crucial in enabling many vulnerable people to emotionally survive in them. And in 1995 a much overdue professionally-oriented book, entitled Anger Disorders: Definition, Diagnosis, and Treatment (ed. It's only logical that if a child's caretakers proved distressingly unresponsive, unreliable or untrustworthy, the "adult child" is likely to be gun-shy, or defensively cultivate a certain emotional detachment, in intimate relationships. Pretty average all around but with my own personal charm, Average he